This weekend I was in Dirty Jersey with a team of remarkable womenthat I have had the pleasure to align myself with over the last several months. I have know Lisa since high school and the rest I have been blessed to get to know through my fitness career or through my nutrition contacts.
My mentor, Lisa
The Man, Aaron Hairston, transformation success story!
He's just as nice as he looks!
Me with Erik Coover
Me, Ronda Rockstar Collier and Michelle
having a blast in Jersey
My good friend and partner in all good things, Michelle
Me, Lisa and Jen V
Jens on sugar...this gal is a blast!
We all drove down from Maine together to learn more about nutrition and being a healthier, happier version of ourselves. To be in a room with 700 genuinely happy people CELEBRATING each other successes and sharing stories was an experience that will be with me for a very long time. I am so excited to aligned with a company that has such integrity and a positive impact on the world. The culture of the company is EXACTLY what I want in my life--uplifting, motivational and real.
700 happy people with "selfie king" Erik Coover and Chris Nish,
The BLONDE TOWER OF POWER
Anyway...enough fun pics from the weekend, the reason for today is SIMPLE and can be summed up in one paragraph with one short video.
We talked a lot about mindset and how we view the world...and this short video was played.
Please, take the time to watch it. It is only 1:48 of your time. IT IS WORTH IT.
What FEAR holding YOU back from accomplishing? What is waiting for you on the OTHER SIDE OF FEAR is the most amazing adventure of your life! Take the leap, the jump and enjoy the ride. What do YOU want to do?
I cannot take credit for this post, for I am simply sharing the list that was written by Amy Morin, LCSW..which I found on Forbes.com Through my own journey to a better me, I have gained some of the mental skills listed here and I am still trying to hone others. I think that life is so much about how YOU react to what is happening around you, not WHAT is happening around you. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did! ~Jen
1. They Don’t Waste Time Feeling Sorry for Themselves
Mentally strong people don’t sit around feeling sorry about their circumstances or how others have treated them. Instead, they take responsibility for their role in life and understand that life isn’t always easy or fair.
2. They Don’t Give Away Their Power
They don’t allow others to control them, and they don’t give someone else power over them. They don’t say things like, “My boss makes me feel bad,” because they understand that they are in control over their own emotions and they have a choice in how they respond.
3. They Don’t Shy Away from Change
Mentally strong people don’t try to avoid change. Instead, they welcome positive change and are willing to be flexible. They understand that change is inevitable and believe in their abilities to adapt.
4. They Don’t Waste Energy on Things They Can’t Control
You won’t hear a mentally strong person complaining over lost luggage or traffic jams. Instead, they focus on what they can control in their lives. They recognize that sometimes, the only thing they can control is their attitude.
5. They Don’t Worry About Pleasing Everyone
Mentally strong people recognize that they don’t need to please everyone all the time. They’re not afraid to say no or speak up when necessary. They strive to be kind and fair, but can handle other people being upset if they didn’t make them happy.
6. They Don’t Fear Taking Calculated Risks
They don’t take reckless or foolish risks, but don’t mind taking calculated risks. Mentally strong people spend time weighing the risks and benefits before making a big decision, and they’re fully informed of the potential downsides before they take action.
7. They Don’t Dwell on the Past
Mentally strong people don’t waste time dwelling on the past and wishing things could be different. They acknowledge their past and can say what they’ve learned from it. However, they don’t constantly relive bad experiences or fantasize about the glory days. Instead, they live for the present and plan for the future.
8. They Don’t Make the Same Mistakes Over and Over
Mentally strong people accept responsibility for their behavior and learn from their past mistakes. As a result, they don’t keep repeating those mistakes over and over. Instead, they move on and make better decisions in the future.
9. They Don’t Resent Other People’s Success
Mentally strong people can appreciate and celebrate other people’s success in life. They don’t grow jealous or feel cheated when others surpass them. Instead, they recognize that success comes with hard work, and they are willing to work hard for their own chance at success.
10. They Don’t Give Up After the First Failure
Mentally strong people don’t view failure as a reason to give up. Instead, they use failure as an opportunity to grow and improve. They are willing to keep trying until they get it right.
11. They Don’t Fear Alone Time
Mentally strong people can tolerate being alone and they don’t fear silence. They aren’t afraid to be alone with their thoughts and they can use downtime to be productive. They enjoy their own company and aren’t dependent on others for companionship and entertainment all the time but instead can be happy alone.
12. They Don’t Feel the World Owes Them Anything
Mentally strong people don’t feel entitled to things in life. They weren’t born with a mentality that others would take care of them or that the world must give them something. Instead, they look for opportunities based on their own merits.
13. They Don’t Expect Immediate Results
Whether they are working on improving their health or getting a new business off the ground, mentally strong people don’t expect immediate results. Instead, they apply their skills and time to the best of their ability and understand that real change takes time.
About a month ago, signed up for the Race the Runways half marathon and signed the hubbster up for the 5k and figured we'd have a fun day of running together and I would just do whatever Coach told me to do regarding the run (race or train) and Casey could get another race under his belt.
What I liked about this race was the medal.
race swag, sweet medal!
What I also liked was that it is hosted on the (now defunct) Brunswick Naval Air Base and a portion of the run in completed on the runway of the base. How ironic that this would be what I liked least about this race...
Initially the weather was predicting 40's and rain. Not ideal for running. Then the forecast changed to 30's and sunny. Then the day before cold and windy.
For once, the meteorologist was right...but it least it wasn't raining, right?
On the road
Coach had a pretty specific plan laid out for the run and it was indeed a training run on tap, mostly aerobic heart rate zones. So definitely just a training day for me!
Casey, on the other hand, was heading into this race with goals to beat his last 5k time.
My friend, Katelyn, was going to running too so we made plans to meet up there. She was also running as a training day too so we thought if our HR zones and pace worked out, we could run together!
Honestly, it was so cold and windy (22* and sustained winds of 20mph with gusts up to 50mph) if I had not just driven an hour here, if I did not want that cool airplane medal and if I did not have Katelyn to run with, there is NO WAY IN HECK I would have run in those conditions for a training day.
In the warmth of the car--no long warm up run would happen!
Casey wanted a good warm up for his 5k (can't blame him!) so he said good bye to us and headed into the frigid wind and cold...while we hit out in the car for a while longer!
Finally, we got out and did a little jogging, a little huddling, and a little shivering waiting for the gun to go off!! I realized that I left my iPod in the car (oh well) and was glad once again to have company to run today!
Video of the start, you can hear the wind!
The 5k and the Half starts together and then we split off in different directions. The first bit of the run was fine, the wind was to our backs and then about a mile and a half in...there it was.
WIND
Cold, bitter, hard blowing wind. Relentless...so I just watched my heart rate and adjusted my pace accordingly, keeping things in check. Once we got to the tarmac (runway) that's when things just got downright silly. The giant wall of wind was just pushing against you! My heart rate shot up to the 150's even though I was barely running a 10 minute mile. The wind was stinging my face and a couple times, it made it kind of hard to breathe!
But we just kept chugging along, I'd check with Katelyn to make sure she was in her zones and I'd check mine. We hit the part where there is a double loop to run and you pass the aid stations with water, gel and gatorade. On the second loop, I walked the aid station to get in some fluids (I can't run and drink from a cup without spilling it...I did not want spillage all over me on this freezing day) and as I WALKED up to the volunteer to get a cup, he spilled the entire cup of Gatorade down the front of me, my entire right leg soaked. AWESOME. I really, really wanted a wet leg on this cold and windy day!! ha ha ha (not really) but whatever, it's not like he did it on purpose.
Katelyn and I had a couple laughs over the weird mile markers because of the double loop (oh, mile 11 already...oh, no. Only mile 7...) and we were both pretty done with battling the cold and the wind by the time we were done with the loop and the last 2 miles did go by pretty quick.
Another friend, Mike, was there as a photographer and I got to see his smiling face on the course a couple times too. He was somewhere in that last 2 mile stretch and so Katelyn and I had to bust a move for some sweet pics! Can't wait to see those!
Finally, we could hear the PA system and cheers so we knew the finish wasn't far. I recall Katelyn saying something like "oh, it's not windy here" and I was like "shhhh, you are going to jinx us!" SURE ENOUGH. Two feet later--whammo!! more wind.
Round the corner and there it was...THE FINISH LINE. Honestly, this was an "slow and easy" run but I felt worked!! Running slow can be more painful than running fast (or at least that's how if felt on this day). I was never so happy to see a finish line and even contemplated doing cartwheels if I would not kick anyone in the head...
Awwwwsome! DONE :)
DONE! I got my cool medal, a solar blanket and a WHOOPIE PIE!!
The company, Wicked Whoopies, donated 1,200 whoopie pies to all finishers> YUMMMMO!
two cold girls!!
While I did not race yesterday, this was actually a really essential training day. Normally, I would not have run outside in those conditions. So yesterday was mental toughness training and character building day! I smiled the whole time and made sure to thank volunteers along the way. I am sure they were freezing their buns off out there!!
I will definitely return to this race next year and chase a new half mary PR!!
And enjoy another whoppie pie!!
HUGE CONGRATS to Mr. Small who ran his butt to another 5k PR, shaving another :33 off his time and in that wind!! 22:40 for a 7:17/pace. Nice work Casey!!
Really...it's been that long since I did a blog post??
Bad bad blogger!!
Coach Awesome effectively kicked my biscuits this weekend after a pretty easy recovery week. Part of it was my own fault. I wrote up a killer leg focused boot camp class for Friday morning and actually participated with the entire class. Lots of deep squats, lunges, wall sits, with heavy weight etc. I mean, really. How foolish could I have been?
I did not have my training schedule in TP as of Thursday night but c'mon. I KNOW that the heavy training loads are always on the weekend and she had warned me that there would be lots of time in the saddle. Saturday we had a big swim and a bike sesh of what I lovingly refer to as a Grind-n-Climb (grind at 60 cadence focusing on using your glutes and then standing climbs) for 10,000 intervals (ok, maybe a slight exaggeration) and Sunday was another hard bike session of long, progressive heart rate intervals followed by a long run of more let's see if we can make your heart explode (again-slight exaggeration).
All smiles in the middle of it all :)
this is starting to hurt a little bit
My sticks were so freaking beat come Sunday's ride that I could not hold the last 20 minute interval on the bike-I just has nothing left. I finished the workout, frustrated that I could not eek out 7 more minutes of hell on my legs but completed my time in the saddle.
nearding DONE notice ipod on ceiling to keep it from drowning
I eased into my run real slow and cautious and after 1:15 I thought my legs were going to burst. They felt like sausages. It was funny-they felt swollen and tight-but they weren't, they were just tired and felt loaded with lead. But once I was able to pick up the pace for some of the higher HR stuff, I felt better. I had to take a couple quick breaks-more than I would have liked-but I was focused on completing the workout.
Now, I don't question Coach Awesome. I mean if I have questions, I ask for I don't question her methods. She tells me to do XYZ, I do XYZ. Frankly, it the woman told me to tape dill pickles to my visor and run in circles for 2 hours, I would just do it. I trust her.
I have to admit, I was thinking about Quassy during this weekend's sessions and I know this is going to be a challenging race. I was thinking "man, this sh!t is haaaard" while running in the 160's hr at the end of a LONG run but I managed and I did not die or puke. I know I never challenged myself like this last season so I am happy with the choice to take on a Coach this year. I am even more stoked that it's Coach Awesome.
But the best thing about that hard run? I woke up this morning with legs that felt fresh and ready to rock 'n roll!! I think that run scared all the DOMS right out of my legs. Happy dance
I have mentioned that my amazing Rev 3 Triathlon team mates are Running Across America to raise funds for Ulman Cancer Fund. I will be running with them-in spirit-since I am unable to join them on their two week trek across the USA. They will be starting in Cali and ending in Washington DC-that's 3,080 miles folks. While they are on the road running, I will be running right here but I will be running at least a mile every day while they are out on the road. I will be sure to keep you all updated on their progress.
I am trying to raise at least $1,000.00 for Ulman Cancer Fund. I have a little over 500 followers on my blog. I ask if each of you could donate just $2.00 to this effort, that would help me reach my goal. And it would help many young adults with cancer get the help they need. I know that there are a lot of wondeful causes out there to support but if you could help in any way, it would be great.
I am trying to put together a prize package for anyone who donates to this-so far I have some great things for Tough Chik and GOTRIbal to offer. YOU KNOW I'll come up with some awesome swag.
So here's the deal-for every $2.00 donated thru this link (and please pick my name from the drop down list when asked-it's Jen Small for those of you who don't know that) you will earn one entry into the giveaway! It's that easy. I'll keep you updated on the prizes. All you have to do is leave me a comment that you donated and how many entries you earned. Don't wanna comment? Feel free to email me directly at jsmall14(at)maine.rr.com
If you have been following my blog for even just a couple weeks you know that I adore Chrissie Wellington. I don't admire her because she wins races. I mean, yeah. She is an amazing athlete- an absolute animal out there on the course. What so impressed me about her was how down-to-earth she seemed to be, how passionate she is about the sport and how she uses her fame as a platform for other issues. What made me bonkers about the girl is her sheer determination to go all out. HER GUTS. I may never be the athlete she is BUT I can emulate her attitude. I can strive to be an athlete that trains hard with her mind in the moment, pushing aside physical discomfort to achieve gains in strength and speed. I can learn to let my mind go to another place when I am on the race course and leave it all out there.
If you have not read this yet, please click the link and read Chrissie's recap of Kona. It is worth the few extra minutes to read it. It may just spark something INSIDE. This is a race report that I will revisit often. This is not a race report explaining her slow(er) swim, or her bike split. It's about her toughness, her mental game, the mental strength require to endure. And pursue and persevere. To summon every fiber within you to push ahead and win.
"There were many instances when body and mind were screaming in agony. The pain in my right hip was excruciating, my form was poor with my left foot turned out like a duck, and soon after other areas of my body started to feel the affects from my changed gait. Hamstrings, calves, even my shoulders cried out for me to stop. I had that ugly voice on one shoulder suggesting I quit and take the easy route. But I hate the goddamn easy route, and I know that I can never rest until I know I have given it absolutely everything. So I ignored the pain. I ignored the internal whispers. It was the other voice, the louder one on the opposite shoulder, which gave me the will to continue: which enabled me to keep my head, and to plunder the words of Kipling, to force my “…heart and nerve and sinew to serve their turn long after they are gone, and so hold when there is nothing in you except the will which says to them Hold On!”
This simple paragraph really spoke to me and I know next time I am suffering, I will reach into the depths of my mind and replay this. There will be No easy route for me.
I shared this quote with Jason yesterday and I am happy to report that he has finished Austin 70.3 with a PR of 5:28.
Yet another example of an athlete who trains physically and mentally-
hijacked from Karen's FB page
Congrats Jason!! Lola and I are very proud of you!!
I am getting the pain cave ready for winter training and it's going to be a long winter. It's going to be made up of a lot of hours sweating, hurting and learning. I am ready to take the next step in this process and become "an aerobic beast" (to quote the other lady who totally inspires me & I get to call Coach).
I got a large dry erase board to put up, I am collecting tidbits that inspire me and re-building my wall of motivation. Including this picture of Chrissie with the quote above.